contact us
A Just Australia 2002-2009 archival site. Please see our new website at
Please note that the views on this archival site do not necessarily reflect the views of the Refugee Council of Australia
Who we are
What we do
Our principles
Patrons list
Our Board
Individual supporters
Organisation supporters
Our Campaign
Our policies
Latest actions and campaigns
Issues in depth
Media releases
Latest releases
Information & resources
Myths & facts
Speeches & articles
Research & papers
Tools to take action

Patrons list

  • Alice Garner, actor; co-founder of Actors for Refugees
  • Barry Jones AO, academic and author; Co-Chair, 1998 Australian Constitutional Convention; former Federal Minister and MP for the ALP
  • Bill Kelty, AC, former ACTU Secretary (1983-2000); AFL Commissioner
  • Br R Julian McDonald CFC AO, Chancellor, Australian Catholic University
  • Bridie Carter, actor
  • Carrillo Gantner AO, President, Sydney Myer Fund; Chair, Asialink; Chair, Victorian Arts Centre
  • Charles Caldas, music producer; CEO, Merlin; former CEO, Shock Records
  • Chris Sidoti, human rights advocate; former Australian Human Rights Commissioner (1995-2000); former Australian Law Reform Commissioner (1992-1995); Adjunct Professor (ACU, UWS, Griffith); former Director, International Service for Human Rights
  • Claudia Karvan, actor
  • Dennis Altman AM, Professor of Politics, Latrobe University
  • Don Watson, writer and historian
  • Elizabeth Evatt AC, former Chief Judge, Family Court of Aust.; former Aust. Human Rights Commissioner; former member, UN Human Rights Committee; former President, Aust. Law Reform Commission; former Commissioner, Intl Committee of Jurists
  • Eva Cox AO, Program Director, Social Inquiry, University of Technology Sydney
  • Fr. Mark Raper SJ AM, President, Jesuit Conference of East Asia and Oceania; former International Director, Jesuit Refugee Service
  • Frank Sartor AO MP, Member for Rockdale (NSW); former Lord Mayor of Sydney
  • Fred Chaney AO, Director, Reconciliation Australia; former Federal Minister, Senator and MP for the Liberal Party
  • Garry McDonald AO, actor; comedian
  • Hanifa Deen, award-winning author; Senior Research Fellow (Monash University)
  • Hilary McPhee AO, author; Vice-Chancellor's Fellow, Univeristy of Melbourne; former Chair, Australia Council
  • Hugh Mackay, social researcher and commentator
  • Ian Barker QC, former President, NSW Bar Association
  • Ian Chappell, author and sports journalist; former Captain, Australian Cricket Team
  • Ian Lowe AO, President, Australian Conservation Foundation; Professor (Griffith Uni, Sunshine Coast Uni); 1988 Humanist of the Year
  • Ian Macphee AO, former Immigration Minister; former ABC board director
  • Ian Parmenter, writer; television chef
  • Irving Saulwick AM, social researcher
  • Jack Thompson AM, actor
  • Jim Soorley, former Lord Mayor Brisbane
  • Joe Riordan AO, former federal Minister; former Senior Deputy President, Australian Industrial Relations Commission
  • John Coombs, former Head of Maritime Union
  • John Dowd AO, QC, The Hon., Vice-President, International Commission of Jurists; President, Austcare; former NSW Attorney-General and State Opposition leader; former Justice of NSW Supreme Court.
  • John Gibson, barrister; President, Refugee Council of Australia
  • John Hewson, AM, former leader of the Federal Liberal Party of Australia
  • John Menadue AO, Board Director, Centre for Policy Development; former Private Secretary to Gough Whitlam; former Secretary of Dept. of Prime Minister and Cabinet and Dept. of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs; former CEO, Qantas
  • John Newcombe AO OBE, tennis player; television commentator
  • John Singleton AM, marketing and advertising entrepreneur
  • John Yu, Dr. AC, former Chancellor, University of New South Wales
  • Julia King, Board of Directors member, Fairfax
  • Julian Burnside, AO, QC, barrister; author; human rights activist
  • Kate Atkinson, actor; cofounder of Actors for Refugees
  • Kate Durham, artist; filmmaker; human rights activist; founding member of Spare Rooms for Refugees
  • Lillian Holt, University of Melbourne Fellow
  • Lowitja O?Donoghue AC CBE, indigenous activist; Visiting Fellow, Flinders University; 1984 Australian of the Year; former Chair, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission; former Chair, Cooperative Research Centre for Aboriginal and Tropica
  • Malcolm Fraser AC CH, former Prime Minister of Australia; founder, CARE Australia
  • Margaret Reynolds, former Minister for Local Government, former Minister assisting the Prime Minister for the Status of Women
  • Martin Wesley-Smith AM, Australian composer
  • Martina Mombassa
  • Mary Crock, Dr., Professor of Law, University of Sydney
  • Mem Fox AM, children's author; former Associate Professor at Flinders University
  • Michael Hill, lawyer
  • Mike Carlton, broadcaster; writer
  • Mike Coward, writer; cricket commentator
  • Neville Roach AO, Chairman, Fujitsu Australia, Former Chairman, Council for Multicultural Australia, Former Chairman, Business (migration) Advisory Panel
  • Nicholas Cowdery AM,QC, NSW Director of Public Prosecutions; former President, International Association of Prosecutors
  • Nick Greiner, AC, former Premier of NSW
  • Nouria Salehi, Dr. OAM, Coordinator, Afghan Support Group
  • Patrick Dodson, 2008 Sydney Peace Prize recipient; Chair, Kimberley Development Commission; Chair, the Lingiari Foundation; former Chair, Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation; former Commissioner into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody
  • Phillip Adams AO, broadcaster; writer
  • Prof. Peter Baume AO, former Senator and Federal Minister
  • Reg Mombassa, artist; musician
  • Renata Kaldor AO, former Deputy Chancellor, The University of Sydney
  • Rev. Bill Crews AM, founder, Exodus Foundation; Humanitarian of the Year, 1992
  • Rev. Tim Costello AO, CEO, World Vision Australia; a founding Director of the Australian Centre for Social Innovation
  • Ric Charlesworth AM, Australian hockey coach; former Australian hockey player; former cricketer for WA; former MP for Perth
  • Robert Manne, Associate Professor, School of Social Sciences, Latrobe University; author
  • Santo Cilauro, actor
  • Sharan Burrow, President, Australian Council of Trade Unions
  • The Most Reverend Ian George AO, Anglican Bishop of Adelaide
  • Tom Long, actor
  • Tuong-Quang Luu AO, Board of Directors, Austcare; former Head of SBS Radio (1989-2006); Australian Achiever of the Year, 2002
  • Vice-Admiral Sir Richard Peek KBE OBE CB, former Chief of the Royal Australian Navy

A Just Australia Inc
Suite 4A6, 410 Elizabeth Street, Surry Hills NSW 2010
phone: 02 8090 8864
fax: 02 9211-9288
Privacy Policy